Happiness: How do you find it?

by JJ

Happiness; many people are all in pursuit of it. How does a person become happy? Are YOU truly happy? How would you define happiness? Is it defined by how much money you have? Do you break down happiness by the material possessions you have? Is happiness defined by the places you’ve vacationed or how successful your career is? Don’t get me wrong…money, success, a prosperous career or business, and material possessions are nice to have. I like all of those things too. Here’s the problem; most people think happiness comes from having A LOT of money. I’m not arguing the fact that money can’t make people “happier” but it can’t make a person genuinely happy.

A few weeks ago a close family friend committed suicide, God rest his soul. I will not get into too much detail about this man’s personal life out of respect for him. He was in his low 60’s and he had a smile that could light up a New York City block. He had his challenges in life. Some were love related, medical, and personal challenges. He started an exotic car import business many years back. He grew his business as well as his reputation. He is what many people would consider wealthy. He drove a beautiful Ferrari 360 Modena, a gorgeous Mercedes-Benz, and newer Corvette. In my mind I’m thinking, “Here is a man who has it all together and has all the happiness in the world.” The problem was, he wasn’t genuinely happy. The doctors had him on pain and depression meds. He had lost his mother in passing a few months back while he was on a cruise in the Caribbean. He had strained relationships with certain family members. Overall, things were not as good as I thought.

I can speculate all day long the reason why he took his own life. At the end of the day one thing is for certain; he was not happy. It did not matter what kind of bank roll this man had. It didn’t matter what kind of cars he drove or how large his house was. None of those details mattered at all. The man was in a dark place in his life for many reasons. I admired that man very much and still do. There was just one thing I wish he would have done differently. That one thing would have been to CHOOSE to be happy and learn to be grateful for the things he had in his life. The man had beautiful grandchildren. He had a beautiful women who cared about him and who he had loads of fun with. The fact of the matter was he LET his mind think about the bad things in his life. He let his mind think of the meds the doctors had him on. He focused on more negative things in his life than the positive.

The bottom line is this; in order to be TRULY, GENUINELY happy in life you have to be grateful for the things you already have. Not only do you have to be grateful for the things you have but really FEEL it in your heart and soul. There are so many things to be grateful and happy about. The first thing I do when I wake up in the morning is write in my Gratitude Journal. The first two things I ALWAYS write is, “Thank you for another day of life & Thank you for my good health.” As long as I have another day of life and my good health, I know the rest is all just a bonus. I give thanks to everything in life. Do you know what I have discovered by giving constant gratitude for everything in my life on a daily basis? I am MUCH HAPPIER in my life. My success is continuously going up. My health is continuously improving. I quit smoking cold turkey. I run 3 to 5 miles a day 4 days a week. So many positive changes have taken place in my life through gratitude. And because of gratitude my happiness NEVER leaves me.

My friends, I share this with you for a few reasons. First, I want people to discover the feeling of life that I feel on a daily basis. Two, EVERYBODY deserves happiness. And three, being genuinely happy WITHOUT all the money in the world is the key. If you can learn to be happy without money first and constantly give gratitude on a daily basis…

Whatever you desire in your heart and whatever your dreams, they will be fulfilled because you found happiness FIRST!!!

Stay Happy – Stay Positive – Stay Grateful

– Jason M Jones

