The Power of a Gratitude Rock

by JJ

Something everybody should have in their pocket.

A Gratitude Rock was something I was new to experience. I first learned about it in a book I read called The Secret then I saw it again in the book, The Magic.  Both books were written by Rhonda Byrne.  I do not get compensated for saying this, but if you have a chance or interest you must read those books.  Rhonda, if you are reading this, I hope you and I can meet one day and talk.

There is a quote in one of her books by Charles Dickens stating: “Reflect upon your present blessings of which every man has plenty; not on your past misfortunes of which all men have some.” This is a very powerful quote; also fact. We all have our rough spots in life. We all have many things in our life that we take for granted. I can list a quick ten:

1. Our Health

2. Air in our lungs

3. Family and Friends

4. Food and Water

5. Electricity

6. Motor Skills

7. Freedom

8. A roof over our head

9. Our 5 Senses

10. Our past failures

I can list so many more.  I am willing to bet that number 10 is confusing a little bit. Let me clarify; without failure we cannot succeed. Simple. Tiger Woods did not get to where he is in life by failing once and then quitting. This man failed numerous times professionally and in some aspects, his personal life. Regardless, he is still one of America’s most iconic people in Golf. You may not like golf, but I am sure you know who Tiger Woods is. The reason you know who he is is because his failures helped him succeed and get him to where he is at in life. We can’t forget to be grateful for our failures. That is a key component for success.

We all have many things to be grateful for, but we get so caught up in life and tend to take things for granted. One important thing we MUST NOT forget is our health. This is one of the reasons why a lot of people get sick. We focus on our health when we get sick. Why not focus on it when we are doing well and feeling great? You should give “thanks” on a daily basis for your health. Without your health you have nothing. I always said, “Your health is your first wealth.”

Life can get pretty crazy. Trust me I know. But life is a beautiful gift we need to be more aware of and grateful for. This is where the GRATITUDE ROCK comes into play. It does not have to be anything you buy. I found my rock in the backyard of my parents house in South Florida. I liked it, it looked unique, and it fit perfectly in my pocket so I designated that my “Gratitude Rock”. (That would be the one in the photo above.)

Every time I hold my “Gratitude Rock” or see it, it instantly triggers me mentally to say thank you for something I already have in my life. Call it counting your blessings randomly throughout your day. This is vital to have more good come into our life. There is a quote in the Holy Scriptures from the Gospel of Matthew:

Whoever has will be given more, and he will have an abundance. Whoever does not have, even what he has will be taken from him.”

Really what this means, is that if you have gratitude for what you have, you will receive more in abundance. If you give no gratitude for what you have, LIKE HEALTH, it will be taken away. This is a very important habit and practice to get into. It has been scientifically proven that gratitude is known to improve a person’s health and attitude.

I am not saying this is easy. It was very challenging for me to continuously monitor my thoughts and say “Thank You” for even the littlest of things. Once you have the practice distilled in you it’s almost like Gratitude on Autopilot. It just happens without you knowing it.

If there is a secret to life it is this; Gratitude is the ultimate form of creating a quality life. That being said, I hope you have an amazing day and you take this advice and apply it. You will see the magic happen in your life if you follow this oh-so-simple practice.

Your Next Action Step: Go outside to somewhere special you love visiting. Search the ground for a special rock that can fit perfectly in your pocket and looks somewhat nice.  You’ll want it to be something special to you. Some people go to rock shops and buy their own stones.  This is perfectly cool if you want something REALLY UNIQUE.  Either way…it’s how you use it.  Keep it by your bedside, your pocket throughout the day, and basically have it with you everywhere you are. When you touch it or look at it you need to say “Thank you for… because…” and watch your life change through GRATITUDE!  🙂

Thank You, Thank You, Thank You for reading this.

Stay Happy, Stay Positive, Stay Grateful!

– Jason M Jones

