How much FAITH do you have?

by JJ

How much faith do you have?

Faith

Are you a person who has faith? Do you have faith in yourself and your abilities? Do you have faith in knowing that no matter what happens to you, either way, you will be just fine in the end? It is a very difficult concept for most people to understand and believe in. Faith is such a heavy word for some people and can be non-existent for most. Why is that? Even to this day, I still do not understand why most people do not have faith. I just want to note to anyone who is reading this: when I talk about “faith”, I am not talking about or pushing religion on anyone what-so-ever. I am speaking more on terms of a spiritual side of things. At the end of the day, we all have specific things we believe in and I respect that.

Keep in mind, I am only in my mid 20′s. I still have A LOT of learning to do in upcoming years. I started learning about faith when I was twenty-two years old. Before that, I really had no faith. I had no faith in some of the things I was doing. I had absolutely no faith in people as a whole. Quite frankly, I was under this illusion that all people had a hidden agenda and nobody was going to look out after me, but myself; and that was all there was to it. But one day came, while I was at work, when I was approached by this older couple I had sold a gym membership to. They invited me out to a Sunday service they attended regularly. It was a non-denominational Christian service. Let me note to you that I was one who NEVER EVER went to a church service. “I didn’t mean to throw in a little Taylor Swift your way with that.  “   I felt there was no need to attend a church service. Still to this day, I do no go to every Sunday services. However, every so often, I will. I’ll go just to learn a little something and embrace a message that may be delivered to me during  the service.

I thought about it and told them I might show up; I might be busy, but I’ll do my best. Something inside of me forced me to go. I could not tell you what it was: something so deep inside made me go and approach it with an open-mind. Remember what I mentioned in my previous post about change? “Force change to happen”, remember that? Well I made a change in myself and decided to go. The message that I received that day was a message so powerful, strong, fulfilling, and unforgettable, I knew that I had found faith right then and there.

Basically in a nut shell, the pastor mentioned that sometimes life does not always go the way we want it to. We think that a certain direction is the way we want it to go, the way it should go, but then does not go. For example, a child crawling around on the floor with a fork in hand is already a recipe for disaster. The child discovers an electrical outlet in the wall and figures it would be a good idea to insert the metal fork into the electrical outlet. As you can tell, the child decided to go a certain direction and execute a certain plan in mind. The child thinks it is a good idea, but you and I both know what WILL happen, as anyone could anticipate. Now mommy notices her child heading to the outlet and discovers the fork in hand and instantly knows what WILL happen next if she does not intervene. Her baby will get hurt, right? I hope you all agree with this statement. The mommy knows it will not be a good path for her baby. She say’s “NO” and snatches the child up immediately from the electrical outlet. To the child, “No” may mean “This isn’t fair.” or “Why not?” While to the mother, “No” DEFINITELY means, “You will get hurt if you do this”.

So in other words, when you think the direction you take is good, God knows it will be the wrong path. So God, playing the role of mommy, snatches you up and sets you on a different path. A path that is known to not hurt you. Instead of taking a left, you are forced to take a right. Do you know what I am saying here? We all think we need to go a certain way in our life. We may think we know what is best. In most cases, we do know what is best, but there are certain occasions we question and ask, “Why didn’t this go the way I planned?”

The more I replayed the message in my head, the more I started to understand my life and why things may happen. It goes along the lines of “everything happens for a reason”. I know we all have heard or said that line a time or two. It is the same concept. Whether you believe in God or not, we are all guided everyday by some divine power in the universe. You can call it a guardian angel or a spirit guide. Or anything else you may think or believe.  I have my beliefs just like you do. The bottom line is this, everything all started to become more clear to me. I began to have “faith” knowing that NO MATTER what happened yesterday, or what happens later today, or what will happen next week, I know I will be fine either way. I know, in my heart and soul, that I will be guided down the path I am supposed to be guided towards. I know that even in some of my darkest hours of life; everything is going to be okay because I have faith. I have faith in God, I have faith in myself, and I have faith in the world.

Thank You, Thank You, Thank You so very much for reading and I hope you comment on it and share with your friends and family. I hope you took something from this as I always find something to apply in my life from daily readings.”

Stay Happy, Stay Positive, Stay Grateful

– Jason M Jones 🙂

