Change (Good or Bad?)

by JJ

Change (Good or Bad?)

– I want to start off by saying Thank You, Thank You, Thank You for taking the time to read my blog. I hope you find my writing helpful, inspiring, and motivational. If you do, please share this with your friends and family. A happy quality of life is so important. As Rhonda Byrne would say – “May the joy be with you.” 🙂

                                                                                                – Jason M Jones

The one thing most people fear in life is change. Most want to keep things the same. People develop a “comfort zone” and are very afraid of stepping out of their “comfort zone.”  Most get use to the way their relationships are with others, careers, where they live, how they do things, and how things are socially around them on a day to day basis. Little do people realize, that things cannot always remain the same. If things, people, and our situations in life remain the same; life would be pretty boring, uneventful, and unfulfilling. Why would we want that for ourselves?

Change is constant and inevitable in life. Change can either be by chance or be forced. If we are not willing to accept the fact that change is going to happen in our own lives and around us; we are going to be stuck in life’s, metaphorically speaking, dead end. I am not saying it is going to be easy. Some people have the natural ability to evolve quicker and more simply than others to what is changing in life.  Some people have the ability to force change to happen in order to improve their current situation in life. Most people, however, have a difficult time dealing with and comprehending change and evolving from it.

I realize the majority of people in our society are set in their ways. As people age, we tend to get really comfortable where they are at in life and do not welcome change. We get use to what we know and are familiar with. We get used to the people we work and socialize with. We are so use to a certain routine we follow in everyday life and the minute a monkey wrench is thrown into the equation; it throws off our balance for the day. Think about it, does it not? We get use to the salary we make. Where we live becomes more comfortable every day, every month, and every year. Every detail in our lives become more set in stone and when something happens, like a lay off for example, it is a complete melt down in our life. Most of us, as human nature, fall into a state of depression, anxiety, and develop a pity party for ourselves while going into panic mode.

We all have a decision to make in how we take life. We can either embrace the fact that change is going to and MUST happen; or we can let “change” take over and allow it to make us feel a certain way. It does not matter if it is a positive or negative change; the key is how we make it work. Behind every circumstance, both good and bad, there always ends up being a miracle in disguise in the future. We may not see it right away. We may realize why weeks, months, or even years down the road. The bottom line is everything happens for a reason. I know you have heard that at one time or another.

I’ve had the blessing of being laid off. I should probably be detailed and tell you I’ve been fired. I worked as a bank teller for a local bank in Southwest Florida. Before I landed that job, I was a boat bottom cleaner scrubbing the barnacles and muck off of peoples expensive toys. It was not a glamorous job, but it paid well. I finally saw light at the end of the tunnel and was employed by a bank. I should inform you, I had previous banking experience where I use to live in Wisconsin. I was a Personal Banker next in line for an Assistant Manager position that I respectfully turned down. I decided to move to Florida and expand my horizons and opportunities. I forced change to happen for myself.

To make a very long story short, I worked at this new bank for a week. Before I went to lunch one afternoon, I counted my till twice before locking my drawer. Everything balanced the way it was suppose to. I locked the key, to my till, in a lock box and off I went. When I returned after lunch and unlocked my till, and to my surprise, I found my drawer was $600 short before I even started conducting transactions. Call me crazy, but when I went into the office to discuss this with the manager of the bank they would not show me the surveillance cameras. Sounds strange, doesn’t it? I think it does. To spare details, they just simply let me go. I had no fine, no police report, nothing.

Needless to say, I was very disappointed and upset in the beginning about all of this. I do not steal and I take pride and passion for the work I do, even if I don’t like it that much. I went a few months of being unemployed. It was not my ideal situation and it was nothing I planned for. But really, who plans for that?

The point I’m making in the story is that things are going to happen and cannot be justified or understood. We are all human with emotions. This is naturally going to upset the average person. After all, it did upset me. I coped with it and embraced the fact I was now unemployed and living off of unemployment. Always remember, everything happens for a reason, right?

Lets fast forward three months after the fact of getting fired. I was DJ’ing at a house party one night when I met a guy, my age, who drove an almost new Cadillac Escalade. Opportunity presented itself; I recognized it, and I asked him what he did for a living, and received the answer. He was an independent fitness marketing and sales consultant for a company, based in Texas, at the time. Keep in mind, this was back in 2008 when the economy was still spiraling downhill. I knew he made a modest living considering the current state of the economy. So I asked him, “How could I do what you do?”. He gave me the number to the owner and I called it repeatedly until I received a call back. I worked with them a solid five years.  That career aloud me to see the country, meet new people, and it helped me develop my character and appreciation for life. In addition, I made A LOT of money doing what I did.  🙂

Let’s not forget the fact that during those five years in between I experienced a number of changes, both good and bad. The important lesson here is the fact I evolved with the changes that happened to me and around me. I embraced the fact change was going to happen. I forced change to happen in some cases. Currently, I could not be more blessed at where I am at in my life and the direction it is going based on events that happened over six years ago.  I am extremely grateful for everything that I went through. I am currently living in South Florida full-time and working from home. I am enjoying my family and slowing things down a notch. I have a beautiful girl who will be moving down from Michigan.  She was someone I met during my travels from my previous career. Life is wonderful!!

So I share this one piece of advice with you all; embrace change and make it happen. Be bold, push fear aside, and step out of your comfort zone and force more change to happen. Believe in yourself, your abilities, and your potential. Give gratitude for all you have and will receive. You just might be surprised where you place yourself in the near and far future. Change is Good!

“The picture below is a real picture taken in Carlsbad, NM when I went to visit the Carlsbad Caverns.  I photo-shopped myself in it, since I took the picture, and added a couple of flared touches. 🙂  I just wanted to share with you this little gem; you NEVER know where life is going to lead you. It led me to this beautiful state park across the country. 

Stay positive, Give Gratitude, and as the Happsters say…”Do me a favor and SMILE!”

🙂

Image

